What is the Balanced Leadership Academy?
The Balanced Leadership Academy (BLA) is a leadership development program provided by the University of South Dakota, School Administrators of SD, and SD Department of Education. Working with McRel’s expert trainers, BLA combines leading-edge research on school leadership that impacts student achievement. The program combines proven research with practical applications for school leaders. The BLA is a series of four professional development sessions that help practitioners learn and apply the leadership responsibilities and practices identified in McRel’s research. The McRel framework focuses on school leadership that provides School Administrators with the skills of knowing what to do, how to do it, why it is important, and when to provide effective leadership.

What is the cost?
The Balanced Leadership Academy is a joint project between University of South Dakota, SASD, DOE, and McREL. Resources from each of these organizations along with ESA, Region 2 and the Title IID Master Teacher Academy Grant will help subsidize the cost of the program. A $500 stipend will be paid to participants for the successful completion of all four sessions.

What are the dates?
Session 1- Balanced Leadership Overview: Jan. 27-28, 2011
Session 2 – Purposeful Community: April 7-8, 2011
Session 3 – Managing Change: May 23-24, 2011
Session 4 – The Focus of Leadership: May 25-26, 2011
2011 Participants
Name
email address
School District
Position
Aaron, Carrie
Carrie.Aaron@k12.sd.us
Sioux Falls, Memorial MS
MS Principal
Allison, Chad
Chad.Allison@k12.sd.us
Marion School District
HS Principal
Covey, Matt
MattCovey@sfchristian.org
Sioux Falls Christian School
Elementary Principal
Dalchow, Dan
Dan.Dalchow@k12.sd.us
Groton
Elementary Principal
Danielsen, Jeff
Jeff.Danielsen@k12.sd.us
West Central School District
Superintendent
Fechner, Chris
Chris.Fechner@k12.sd.us
Tea Area School District
MS Principal
Fink, Twaine
Twaine.Fink@k12.sd.us
Sioux Falls Lowell Elementary
Elementary Principal
Fuller, Nikki
Nikki.Fuller@k12.sd.us
Sioux Falls School District
Intern
Geary, Mark
Mark.Geary@dsu.edu
Dakota State University
Higher Ed
Hamm, Darla
Darla.Hamm@k12.sd.us
St. Agnes, Vermillion
Elementary Principal
Hauser, Marge
mhauser@edec.org
East Dakota Ed Coop
Curriculum Coord.
Hubert, Pat
phubert@edec.org
ESA, Region 2
ESA Staff
Jeffers, Lori
Lori.Jeffers@k12.sd.us
Chester School District
SPED Dir
Johnson, Guy
Guy.Johnson@k12.sd.us
West Central School District
MS Principal
Kotrba, Darla
Darla.Kotrba@k12.sd.us
Ethan
K-12 Principal
Musser, Natalie
nmusser@edec.org
ESA, Region 2
ESA Staff
Neill, Kelly
kneill@sfcss.org
Dell Rapids St. Marys
K-12 Principal
Outka, Janeen
joutka@edec.org
ESA, Region 2
ESA Staff
Powers, Michelle
Michelle.Powers@k12.sd.us
Brookings School District
SPED Dir
Reinhiller, Mike
Michael.Reinhiller@k12.sd.us
Chester School District
HS Principal
Richarz, Sarah
Sarah.Richarz@k12.sd.us
Canton School District
SPED Dir
Rollinger, Ryan
Ryan.Rollinger@k12.sd.us
Harrisburg High School
Asst. HS Principal
Schutz, Jerry
Jerry.Schutz@k12.sd.us
Tea Area School District
Superintendent
Smythe, Toby
Toby.Smythe@k12.sd.us
Tea Area School District
Dean of Students
Sommervold, Cate
csommervold@edec.org
ESA, Region 2
ESA Staff
Stoltenburg, Lori
lstoltenburg@edec.org
ESA, Region 2
ESA Staff
Talcott, Gregg
Gregg.Talcott@k12.sd.us
Brandon Valley
HS Principal
Teply, Mary
mteply@edec.org
ESA, Region 2
ESA Staff
Tschetter, Jennifer
jtschetter@edec.org
ESA, Region 2
ESA Staff
Von Fischer, Paul
Paul.VonFischer@k12.sd.us
Brookings School District
HS Principal

Change Theorist Posters
Lewin2011.JPG
Gladwell2011.JPG
Deutschman2011.JPG

Fullan2011.JPG
Heifetz2011.JPG
Bridges2011.JPG

Cuban2011.JPG
Rogers2011.JPG